Menu Close

Month: July 2016

Happy Birthday Slash

A big happy birthday to Slash! 51 today and still the man!

Saul Hudson (born July 23, 1965), better known as Slash, is a British-American musician and songwriter. He is best known as the lead guitarist of the American hard rock band Guns N’ Roses, with whom he achieved worldwide success in the late 1980s and early 1990s. During his later years with Guns N’ Roses, Slash formed the side project Slash’s Snakepit. After leaving Guns N’ Roses in 1996, he co-founded the supergroup Velvet Revolver, which re-established him as a mainstream performer in the mid to late 2000s. Slash has since released three solo albums: Slash (2010), featuring an array of famous guest musicians, and Apocalyptic Love (2012) and World on Fire (2014), recorded with his band, Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators. He returned to Guns N’ Roses in 2016, nearly 20 years after he had left.

Slash has received critical acclaim as a guitarist. Time named him runner-up on their list of “The 10 Best Electric Guitar Players” in 2009, while Rolling Stone placed him at No. 65 on their list of “The 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time” in 2011. Guitar World ranked his solo in “November Rain” No. 6 on their list of “The 100 Greatest Guitar Solos” in 2008, and Total Guitar placed his riff in “Sweet Child o’ Mine” at No. 1 on their list of “The 100 Greatest Riffs” in 2004. In 2012, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Guns N’ Roses’ classic line-up.


Corey Taylor smacks phone out of texting fan’s hands at Slipknot gig

Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor was highly unimpressed when he spotted a fan texting during a recent show on the band’s North American tour.

Footage of the incident shows Corey prowling the stage in his idiosyncratic way during a typically thunderous ‘Eyeless’ before spotting a man in the front way playing with his phone.

Striding towards the man, Corey smashes the phones right out of his hands and it goes flying in front of the barrier.



Drummer Steven Adler performed with GUNS N’ ROSES for the second time in 26 years on Saturday night (July 9) in Nashville, Tennessee, where he once again joined the group onstage to play drums on “Out Ta Get Me” and “My Michelle”. He previously performed the same two songs with GN’R at Wednesday’s (July 6) concert in Cincinnati, Ohio.

These two shows marked Adler’s first two appearances with GUNS N’ ROSES since 1990, although he performed with members of the band at their 2012 induction into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame.

Speculation about Adler having some sort of involvement in the GUNS N’ ROSES reunion has been rampant ever since the band made it official with a surprise April 1 show at the Troubadour in Los Angeles.

Adler was reportedly going to appear at that gig until he was sidelined by a back injury.

The regular GUNS N’ ROSES drummer for several years has been Frank Ferrer, who is also part of the current lineup that boasts classic lineup members Axl Rose, Slash and Duff McKagan.

Adler was thrown out of GUNS N’ ROSES in 1990 due to his heavy drug use, a problem he struggled with for years after his dismissal.

The GUNS N’ ROSES “Not In This Lifetime” tour continues on Tuesday (July 12) in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Read more at here.

Wolf Hoffmann

ACCEPT’s guitar powerhouse, WOLF HOFFMANN, releases his second solo album today

ACCEPT’s guitar powerhouse, WOLF HOFFMANN, releases his second solo album today throughNuclear Blast, entitled »Headbangers Symphony«, completely dedicated to the grand classic maestros. To mark the occasion, the brand-new music video for ‘Night On Bald Mountain’ has been revealed today.

Wolf commented on the video:

Some ideas devised in a split second can work like a charm, and originally it was like – there’s no way you can do that… but I thought WHY NOT?! We had so much fun and it was party time from the first second onwards! I hope that the fans get it: a very hot summer night with friends and music and going a bit over the top… I wish you all could have been there!

Wolf Hoffmann has a passion. His life-long love and dedication to heavy metal music is documented in dozens of albums spanning four decades with his long time heavy metal bandACCEPT. But beyond heavy metal, Wolf has an incessant craving for the classics, yes, the ones written decades and centuries ago.

Classical music has always been an influence – albeit limited – on ACCEPT’s Teutonic approach to rock and heavy metal. However, it wasn’t until 1997 during a extended hiatus from ACCEPT, thatWolf Hoffmann finally had the chance to fully explore and fulfill this interest by recording his first astounding solo album »Classical«, a record filled with his rock guitar driven interpretations of some of classical music’s most loved compositions.

I have always incorporated classical music in my songwriting with ACCEPT, especially with »Metal Heart«, but I constantly felt there was so much more that I could do and I did not want to overload ACCEPT or force it in any way. I always knew I could make a whole record of it and that’s how the first record »Classical« was born. Even today, fans tell me that they are still listening to it, that’s why it is so fantastic now to do another one.

»Headbangers Symphony« is truly a bold statement by a genuine musician who simply refused to rest on his laurels and continues to push and challenge himself.

»Headbangers Symphony« – Track Listing:

  • 01. Scherzo (L. v. Beethoven)
  • 02. Night On Bald Mountain (M. Mussorgsky)
  • 03. Je Crois Entendre Encore (G. Bizet)
  • 04. Double Cello Concerto in G Minor (A. Vivaldi)
  • 05. Adagio (T. Albinoni)
  • 06. Symphony No. 40 (W. A. Mozart)
  • 07. Swan Lake (P. Tchaikovsky)
  • 08. Madame Butterfly (G. Puccini)
  • 09. Pathétique (L. v. Beethoven)
  • 10. Meditation (J. Massenet)
  • 11. Air On The G String (J. S. Bach)